Search

Submissions

by Rutgers University Muslim Students Association

Category

Halaal-tize me Cap’n

Fries and “Natural Flavorings”

Once upon a time, I loved eating french fries. Not just any french fries…McDonald’s french fries. Ohhhh. Yesssss.

But then something horrible happened. I found out my beloved french fries were haraam.

“For flavor enhancement, in the U.S., McDonald’s French fry suppliers use a very small amount of beef flavor as a natural flavoring during the par-frying process at the potato processing plant”.

Why, McDonald’s? Why?

Every year or so, I call them up and ask them if their fries are suitable for vegetarians, yet. And every year I’m given the same heartbreaking answer. No.

I just want fries that are suitable for vegetarians, McDonald’s. Is that so much to ask for?

But getting into the bigger issue, many products will often list “natural flavorings” in their ingredients. These “natural flavorings” can come from animal sources – including pigs – so this is definitely something to look out for. When in doubt, call the company. It literally takes only five minutes and you get straight answers.

Oh! Going back to fries for a second, some fast food restaurants will cook their fries in the same oil used for cooking meats. Be sure to ask them whether or not their fries are cooked separately from the nasty haraams.

Just in case you were wondering, from what I know:

Burger King fries = halaal.

Wendy’s fries = halaal.

But make sure to ask them if they cook their fries separately from meats or not. Different locations have different practices. So if one BK cooks fries separately, it doesn’t necessarily mean the others do, too.

Stay halaal, folks.

zee

-edit-

I stated in my first article that I acknowledge other opinions. I know different opinions exist and I respect them. I’m not saying my opinion is right and others are wrong. That would be horrible on my part. What I am saying is that I’m trying to follow the more popular and traditional opinions to the best of my ability. 

You don’t have to listen to me, and I will never tell you what I follow is the only correct way. I’m not a scholar nor am I any expert on halal. I’m just a dumb kid posting my thoughts/musings on food…because I love it. Apologies if anything comes off as offensive and feel free to disagree / correct me if I’m wrong. :)

Food is great. So is zabiha. And so are you guys.

Peace.

About Me by Zee

Bismillahi Ar-Rahman Ar-Rahim

AsSalaamu-alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu

I thought about starting with something really lame like “Call me Zee because I like Z for Zabiha” but…that would be lame.

The statement still holds true though. I love zabiha halal food :) I am very strict when it comes to eating zabiha halal. I understand differences of opinion exist on what “halal” is so let me lay something down for you right here: I eat in accordance to the four schools of fiqh and I always take the popular opinion. I like to check every ingredient and call up companies to make sure the products they are selling do not contain anything coming from a non-zabiha-halal animal source. I don’t go by the whole “he said-she said / let-me-show-you-a-chain-email-dating-ten-years-back-about-how-halal-this-product-is” nonsense. I want straight facts and I want them directly from the people making the food. I try to stay away from doubt as much as possible – so just because I choose to avoid certain foods does not mean it is impermissible to consume. I’m just being careful. I do not know of all the halal and haram products out there. I am no scholar. I’m just a rinky dink kid who strives to be as careful as possible and works with what resources are available to determine the permissibility of consuming particular foods. Taqwa over fatwa?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑