Dear Allah,

I got a couple things to ask you this time around. I know they’re a bit trivial, and as much as people say I shouldn’t feel embarrassed of my du’as, I kinda am. But don’t mind me. Forgive my rambling thoughts.

So I assume you noticed my lack of alarm clock for Fajr. I read online that there are vastly superior benefits from waking up from a natural slumber rather than blaring alarm clocks. I am a night owl, so after many trials and experiments I have come to the conclusion that all I need is a little nudge on the shoulder to help me up. You can do that for me, right?

Also, can you help me find my Qur’an? I can’t remember the last time I read Arabic. All these shiny, new, and bland as beans textbooks took over the bookshelf and they’ve commandeered an assault on the veteran books that have made their home here. I think the invaders took my Qur’an hostage because I can’t find the worn text anywhere.

And there’s gotta be something wrong with my prayer rug. It’s been in the corner over there for ages and makes my allergies act up when I open it. I haven’t done that in a while, actually. But I can’t pray with all this dust that’s settled in the fibers. Tell them to make their home elsewhere.

Oh, sorry for fidgeting. My mom says to keep focused when talking to God but this scarf on my head feels like it’ll fall off at any time. There was this technique someone taught me but it just… slipped my mind.

I guess a lot of important things have fallen out of my memory, haven’t they?

Ameen sum’ameen.

