So something you may not know about me…. I like to write. I take this Creative Writing class every Tuesday and Thursday. We read pieces before every class and respond to them, and then the next class meeting we have to write something relating to that theme. Once we tackled the theme of faith, and this is what I wrote. I’m sharing this with you for no reason other than sharing, please enjoy it. :)

Black Heart

It’s left to the last drop of goodness.

A shining, piercing light amidst dark darkness. Black darkness. Evil darkness

Everything is fine.
No, everything is far from fine. Nothing is fine.
But you ask thinking the problem is as simple as 2 + 2 is, so why do you even ask?
At times the answer is as simple as four, at others it’s as simple as a toddler trying to stack cubes, spheres, and pyramids. Yes, at times a sphere can balance over a cube. But more often than not each stack will fall, fall, and fall and rearrange itself on the floor.

But sometimes things ARE fine. But if I reveal the vulnerabilities of my heart, then people won’t see me. They’ll see my struggling heart. As though one conversation, one confession, one crying situation is all that’s needed to realize me.

Life is alone. So alone. Yes, we can cuddle. We can walk through the day holding hands. We can live our entire lives holding hands. But a physical merge will never merge two hearts and two minds.
Life is alone. Support is needed. Forgiveness is needed. Love is needed. Balance is needed. None of these are given. All of these are worked for.

If I live my life straight, will I be safe? Or will I be sad and alone? Alone again? Alone again. Always alone.
But maybe not. Not alone, because if the heart is given, sadnesses are poured out five times a day and more, if pain is let go, and hope, forgiveness, and love are received. Then even if alone in a field extending miles and miles without a soul nearby, then never alone. Never ever alone.

