Based on a True Story

Throughout my first three years here at Rutgers, whenever someone asked me if I was going to the MSA event on any particular night, my answer was always no. I never knew about the student organization’s events until a few hours before their scheduled time, and that didn’t fit into my preplanned routine of driving to school, going to class, and driving home.

I did have some sort of social life. My friend circle was mostly limited to who I knew before college and a buddy or two from my classes (and even they were usually friends of friends). I think I built up an anti-MSA reputation among my friends, as they often joked about how I never went to anything and didn’t really care to. That idea was absurd obviously. I wasn’t anti-MSA at all—I was really glad it existed because that meant a bunch of Muslims could learn more about their deen, meet Muslim friends, represent Islam on campus, plus a boatload of other benefits.

I’ll cut to the chase here—I did eventually give the MSA a chance. I signed up for the newsletters in an attempt to stay updated with what was going on. I think my first meeting in the Paul Robeson Cultural Center was the Spring ’13 kickoff, and that’s where I heard an announcement about the then-upcoming Road to Revival conference. It must have been a few days later at my Sunday school that an avid MSA member and dear friend informed me the deadline for discounted tickets was soon…so I did it. I registered. And then I went to the conference.

Alhamdulillah, I’m so glad I did.

It’s safe to say I was blown away by the conference. Everything was organized, the speeches were memorable, and it was creative! I left the conference with the Iman boost I needed and a new perception of and respect for the MSA. (Come IAW, that respect and positive perception again increased).

That brings me to this year’s Road to Revival: Based on a True Story. (The tagline works really well with my post title as you can see…the above paragraphs are true stories, aha).

Insha’Allah, the event is this weekend with a theme of Qur’anic lessons. The speaker lineup looks great, Masha’Allah! Linked here is the program, with all the session details, and below are some videos of the speakers to get a taste of what’s to come from these blessed people, Insha’Allah:

Dr. Farhan Abdul Azeez

Shaykh Abdul Nasir Jangda

Dr. Hatem al-Haj

Dr. Shadee Elmasry

Imam Siraj Wahhaj

Mufti Hussain Kamani

If you’ve been on the fence about seeing what the MSA is all about, this weekend’s event is a great place to begin Insha’Allah.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on H2 Hoops.

    Like

Leave a Reply

