It’s Never Too Late—But Don’t Wait for the End

I introduced myself in my first post, but from now on I’ll share my father’s advice via Muslim fiction. Enjoy and benefit, Insha’Allah.

~~~

My name is Omar Islam, and this is my diary to keep track of my life changes and post-Rutgers journey.

May 2013: Graduation

Graduation day was long, hot, and extremely sweat provoking. What can I say, I was pretty ecstatic that I was finally a Rutgers University graduate. I’m going to miss running for those buses, bumming around at BCC, and most importantly—I’m going to miss Rutgers MSA.

June 2013: The Real World

So it’s been only a month after college, but it’s time to tackle the real world. Alhamdulillah, I was able to find a job right away. Working at Accenture as a consultant is actually pretty cool. Although, I may get caught up in my work I make sure to always pray five times a day and make du’a. RU-MSA helped me develop my iman, but now that I’m on my own, I have to sustain it.

August 2013: BORING!

My life has become so boring…I wake up, pray, eat, go to work, pray, come home, eat, and pray…then the cycle starts all over again. Even my weekends are devoted to leftover work. I need and want some excitement and thrill in my life. I’d get in touch with my RU Brothers, but they’re back home in Jersey, too far from where I am now in Texas. So I think I’ll start chilling with my co-workers. They seem pretty cool, and who knows? Maybe I can give them some dawah.

September, October, November, December: NO ENTRIES

Omar didn’t have time to write in his diary as he was too busy after work, chilling with his co-workers. It started off as simple halal hangouts. But as he got used to this new schedule, he began to forget to pray Isha. Omar still hasn’t found that entertainment or fun he so desperately wanted. The more his desire grew, the more he drifted away from the teachings of Islam. Soon enough, he stopped praying five times a day because he felt like he didn’t have the time. One day after work his co-workers invited him to go out for dinner. That night, he drank alcohol to the point of extreme intoxication for the first time. The bartender called a taxi to take him home. He woke up hungover the next day and was super late for work (missed Fajr and Zuhr). His boss called him into the office to release him from the job because they no longer had the financial capabilities to pay him. 

January 2014: Time for Change

I lost my job today, I pray that Allah makes things better.

Note: He does not make du’a for forgiveness in the process. But Allah being the Most Merciful answers his call by giving him the opportunity to work as a taxi driver.

February 2014: Are You Serious?

I’m a university graduate, and I’m working as a taxi driver? Has it really come down to this? I’m scared to tell my parents  I lost my job. Oh well, they’re old and probably don’t care. Unfortunately, I think I have to take this stupid job.

Omar does not recognize his opportunity and thinks Allah did not answer his prayers, and his thoughts towards his parents are not righteous either.

March 2014: Ya Allah, Forgive Me, for I Have Sinned

Today I had a major wake up call. I was called to pick up a drunk man from the bar. To my surprise it was my co-worker who invited me for dinner that day. I started a conversation with him, but he was too drunk to think clearly. He was even cursing at me saying how much of a pathetic loser I am and that I’m worthless scum because I work as a taxi driver. I realized then, I behaved the same way with the taxi driver who was taking me home that one day. Ya Allah I have sinned, please forgive me!!!!

That night, he went home and prostrated to Allah after many months. He not only asked Allah for forgiveness but for guidance the whole night. He was found dead the next morning and his last words were La ilaha illa Allah, Muhammad ar-Rasool Allah.

~~~

Omar made many mistakes, but ultimately does that determine his end? NO. Iman goes up and down, but those who believe in Allah through it all are the ones with strength. Shaitaan whispers to us many desires. If we fall into them once, it becomes really hard to dig ourselves out of the hole. Despite his long list of sins, Allah made Omar realize his mistakes.

Father’s Advice: There will be many instances in life when you feel alone, but don’t let it get to you. This life is temporary, and senseless fun and entertainment won’t help you in the Akhirah. Make du’a to Allah that He keeps you on the right path. Do good, and you’ll receive good, Insha’Allah. Focus on having a good ending in all aspects of your life. Keep your eye on the ultimate eternal prize!

“Is there any Reward for Good other than Good?” [Qur’an 55:60]

Featured image.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Jazakallahu Khair

    Like

    1. shadia417 says:

      Wa Iyakum

      Like

Leave a Reply

