Surah Al-Imran Aya 29:

“Say: Whether you conceal what is in your breasts or reveal it, Allah knows it. And He knows that which is in the heavens and that which is on the earth. And Allah is over all things competent.”

Though we may say to ourselves we don’t judge, when we immediately look at someone we may start to think  the one wearing the hijab is more pious than the one who doesn’t. When we look at our fellow brothers we may think the longer the beard, the closer he is to Allah subhana wa ta’ala. But what do we really know about these people? We see Sunnah, yes, but what truly lies in their hearts?

Before I started to wear hijab, as an act of comfort, I would tell myself, “At least I am better than the one who wears hijab and does haram.” I realize now how truly wrong that statement is. Every human being has sinned. No human being has been free from sin and no human being will enter Jannah save from the Mercy of Allah subhana wa ta’ala. To say you are better because you look less Muslim only means  you are sinning in this department while the person following the Sunnah/Fard is dealing with his or her own sins.

Some may argue it is an act of hypocrisy, that the ones who carry these appearances are the ones who are deceiving us. One thing that is forgotten when coming to this conclusion: we wholeheartedly and truly do not know what the person’s intentions are. We do not know his sins. We do not know if he repented. We do not know if Allah subhana wa ta’ala is guiding him as we speak. The most amazing stories are the ones of those who sinned many years of their lives and found Allah subhana wa ta’ala and were guided to the Truth. An example can be the story of Umar Ibn Al Khattab radiAllahu anhu. This man hated the deen, but was later amongst the promised men of Jannah. What do we have to say about these so called “sinners” now?

As a reminder to others and to myself, this aya translated at the beginning of this post clearly tells us  Allah subhana wa ta’ala is the All-Knowing. We are undoubtedly, not. Though this fact is known to many, it is easy to say, but sometimes difficult to remember.

A good relative of mine felt distant from the very place where a sisterly bond was meant to be found. She conveyed to me the message: “I feel like it’s because of the hijab they will treat so and so better than they treat me. I don’t feel like going to the meetings anymore.” Instead of helping a fellow Muslim sister, the fear of judgment and discrimination led my dear relative, and I am sure many others, further away from the very Ummah she called her own.

It is safe to say our misjudgments can cause such disorder. It is not to say you won’t have some sort of understanding who a person is, but who they truly are and where they are going is something we will never know. There are some we love, get to know, and attempt to understand, but their hurt, trials, and tribulations will only be understood by the Creator. It is with this understanding I’d like to say I am who I am. Allah subhana wa ta’ala knows who I am. Though this is my first article, you may want to come up with a judgment of who I am from it. Realize  no matter how much deducing you will attempt, you will come to the inevitable conclusion, “You Don’t Know Me.”

