Stress: Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That!

The last month of this semester is upon us. We wrap up in a rush trying to accomplish as much as possible to avoid ruining all our hard work in the beginning of the year. It’s always a stressful time, perhaps filled with regret or fear. I have a few tips and tricks to deal with stress, whether it’s caused by school, work, or life in general. I found these 25 tips to be very helpful. Below, I highlighted my favorites and added some of my own.

1. Think of the bigger picture.

This is my thought process: So what if I fail? Does it really matter if I fail? No, I’m judged by how hard I work, not whether I fail or pass. This life is temporary, so let’s not stress about it. Anything can happen between now and the event, so why let stress overpower me?

2. Do your part.

The rule is: to assure the success of anything, you have to do two parts. First, you actually have to study or do whatever preparation you need. Second, you have to rely on Allah (subhana wa ta’ala) to help you out. Be aware, we can plan all we want, but Allah is the Best of Planners.

2. Calm yourself.

Try sitting down with the thing that worries you the most, and use a calming mechanism. Generally, I do something that gets my mind out of the panicky mode. For example, I like to hum to calm myself down. Or I’ll tell myself I’ll kill the exam. Also, I find tasks become easier once I break them down and talk myself through them. (Okay, Ayah, you got this, girl. Alright, so the…, okay that’s why I have to do this and not that. Ohhh, you’re so smart, maaaan you’re going to kill this test!) Yes, this does actually go on in my head.

3. Make it interesting.

Focus on what’s interesting about the topic you’re studying. Finding something personally interesting in your readings/homework can help develop great memorizing mechanisms.

4. Time yourself.

Tell yourself, “Okay, self. You have ten minutes to read this page.” By timing yourself and sticking to a schedule, you may very well be less likely to waste time on sites like Facebook. Proper timing prevents your mind from wandering to panic land.

5. Remember, it’s possible.

Remember whatever stuff you have to do, is doable. Allah (subhana wa ta’ala) does not burden any believer with more than he/she can handle. So ask yourself, are you up to the challenge?

6. Tawakkul ala Allah

Believe in Allah (subhana wa ta’ala), and realize He there for you. You might think to yourself, “Well, it’s not like I’m a great believer. I missed prayers here and there. I yelled at my dad…”

It’s important to fix such things, and not remain hopeless. It’s also important to realize when Allah (subhana wa ta’ala) says He will be near if the believer asks for Him.

7. Sleep and eat.

Finally, sleep and eat well. I know, so cliché. However, when you’re studying, you really don’t need to make anything more difficult for yourself. Eating a heavy meal will make you drowsy and it will make you lethargic. Not sleeping enough will drain you and make it harder to study and retain information. Also, keep the area you sleep in clean, because a cluttered room will clutter your mind.

Insha’Allah, I hope this helped in some way. Please make du’aa for me to get really good grades this semester, and I will do the same for you Insha’Allah. Thanks!

Wishing everyone the best with the remainder of the semester on behalf of the #RUMSAblog team! Be sure to share your tips on staying calm and stress-free in the comments section of this post!

Leave a Reply

