Assalamu Alaikum wa Rahmatullah wa Barakatuh

In the name of Allah, The Most Compassionate, The Most Merciful.

Sometimes when I read an article online or some analysis of a news event, I don’t get to know who the author is. And that really sucks sometimes because some articles are a great read and I want to make a connection. I want to learn about this author and perhaps want to read other articles by him or her. Nevertheless, I get lucky when they attach their name to the article but a quick google search will reveal it is only a fake name. Knowing the author not only helps you understand the situation (article) better through their eyes but it is essential to learn about different opinions.

So let me briefly attempt to describe myself.

Perhaps the most important thing you need to know about me is that I am a guy. I hope this isn’t earth-shattering news to you. I’m very expressive in my writing so don’t let stereotypes misguide you on who the author is. I learned that the hard and embarrassing way! I chose to have a pen name for myself. Why? I would like to remain private and hidden from everything. Maybe now I understand why some authors like to keep fake names or post anonymously. I wasn’t really accepting of putting my name on the internet. I sometimes google my name to see where I am on the internet because I’m curious. You know you’ve searched your name before so don’t pretend like you don’t know what I’m talking about!

My pen name is Part Time Punjabi. For those who do not know what Punjabi means, you’re missing out. No, but really, it is an ethnicity that originates from a region that is half in India and half in Pakistan. You would think it would unify the two countries but this actually caused more culture clashes. And I understand that is debatable. Anyhow, why “Part Time”? Although I’m born in the India side of Punjab, I consider myself more American than Punjabi because I was raised in NJ. However, the Punjabi culture is full of deep tradition, language and history. Therefore, I’m always trying to visit my roots and understand it better. However, I don’t believe I will be able to become a “Full Time Punjabi”. I feel like this occurs to a lot of young immigrants when they become adults. They realize their integration into America (not necessarily American society) but reflect back to their parent’s roots.

So that explains my pen name. What about my column name? Unspoken Truth…sounds dark and mysterious. Well, it is exactly the opposite. Over the years of getting to know many new Muslims and new communities, I noticed there were a lot of taboos and things you just don’t talk about. Certain things that really need to be addressed in our Ummah but are often suppressed away because they are difficult to talk about. You may call such topics…unspoken. And I plan to shed light on them. But please bear in mind: I am not a scholar or an educator. Insha’Allah, I plan to reveal and talk about the dirty truths that we all must face. As rising adults, we have to constantly remind ourselves for the next transition of our lives. Hopefully this becomes beneficial to everyone!

And always, Allah knows best. He really does.

