One Belief, One Ummah

By: Aliya Aliya

I was at a halaqa once, and we were just talking about prayer. My friend couldn’t attend so I was recording it on my phone so I could send it to her later and post it to the sister’s Google group. It was a very small group of girls, so we were all sitting at a table having an open discussion. One girl was talking about how she encourages herself to pray all her Sunnah, and another girl was talking about how its important to pray. And then out of nowhere, one girl started talking about how a particular sect prays a particular way-and even goes to the point where she said astaghfirullah to it.

Woah. Uncalled for.

Everyone got quiet, and we moved on to the next subject. I had to take my phone and stop recording. I couldn’t post that video and send it to everyone. And I have to say, one of my biggest regrets was just sitting there and listening to her say it and not interrupting to tell her what I thought. So I figured I would lay out my thoughts and at least tell it to you guys.

Prayer is something that involves every Muslim. No matter what sect, everyone prays. It might be a little bit different depending on whom you talk to, but at the end of the day every Muslim says and believes in La-illaha-illallah.

This is just something that I noticed. We’re so willing to go and give dawah to Christians, Jews, and other non Muslims, but when it comes to our own kind we judge like no other. And by no means am I hating on dawah, I love dawah. But I think we should learn from how we treat non-Muslims. We accept other people whose values differ so greatly from ours, but how do we treat our brothers and sisters who stand with us in prayer? That fast with us in Ramadan?

Last time I checked, this was Muslim Student Association – encompassing all Muslims and uniting them under their shared belief: la illaha ilallah. Not to mention that a lot of people in MSA follow the particular sect that this girl was bashing. I just can’t imagine what someone would have felt if they were of that sect and had to actually listen to this girl. Thank god this was a small halaqa, but I’m starting to see why they don’t ever get that large.

It’s called understanding, my friends. People do what they do because they truly believe it is the right thing. It might not be the same as what we believe, and that’s okay. We can talk about these differences in an academic way, which allows us to gain knowledge and insight. Not sit there and preach hate of a whole sect of Muslims to a group of girls you don’t even know.

Leave a Reply

